



15 September, 2022

H.E. Zbigniew Rau OSCE Chairman-in Office, and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Poland

Your Excellency,

On 31 August-8 September 2022 the 11<sup>th</sup> Assembly of the World Council of Churches met in Karlsruhe, Germany. Among its outcomes, the Assembly adopted a Minute on the consequences of the 2020 Nagorno-Karabakh war, which we convey to you herewith. In this Minute, the Assembly drew attention to several lingering and unresolved issues following that deadly and destructive war, which if left unresolved would predispose to further conflict. The Assembly called, *inter alia*, for "the start of meaningful dialogue for a just and peaceful settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict in the framework of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) Minsk Group."

In the intervening days, fresh conflict has indeed broken out, in which more than 100 lives have already been lost. Moreover, this renewed armed violence risks further escalation and yet more death and destruction. On 31 August 2022 the Prime Minister of Armenia and the President of Azerbaijan met in Brussels to discuss prospects for a comprehensive peace treaty. However, credible reports and analysis suggest that Azerbaijan is seeking – through the renewal of hostilities while the international community is focused on the ongoing crisis in Ukraine – to force Armenia into accepting a settlement on its terms.

We are therefore writing to appeal urgently to you to do your utmost to avert any such cynical misuse of the current geopolitical situation, to avoid further escalation, and to promote more rapid and effective progress towards a just and sustainable peace in the region.

Yours sincerely,

Rev. Prof. Dr Ioan Sauca Acting General Secretary

World Council of Churches

Dr Jørgen Skov Sørensen General Secretary

Conference of European Churches

cc: H.E. Helga Maria Schmid OSCE Secretary-General

H.E. Andrzej Kasprzyk

Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office on the conflict dealt with by the OSCE

The co-chairs of the Minsk Group