Bureau du COE auprès des Nations Unies, New York

Faire entendre les voix des Eglises et des organisations oecuméniques pour influencer les décisions de principe des Nations Unies.

Donate

Installé au Church Center for the United Nations, l’EUNO est le centre du Conseil œcuménique des Églises pour les initiatives de plaidoyer au siège des Nations Unies à New York.

Avec l’Alliance ACT, le COE, par l’intermédiaire de l’EUNO, joue un rôle clé en initiant et facilitant des actions de plaidoyer à différents niveaux et en élaborant des stratégies œcuméniques conjointes sur des questions prioritaires.

L’EUNO est un instrument clé car il permet d’offrir une plateforme aux plus marginalisés d’entre nous, en particulier ceux de l’hémisphère sud. Ils peuvent ainsi témoigner de leurs expériences et de la vérité, afin d’influencer les politiques et la prise de décision, tant aux Nations Unies à New York que dans les États membres ou au sein d’autres institutions intergouvernementales et multilatérales. 

En engageant un dialogue continu et une coopération programmatique avec des agences telles que le Groupe de travail interinstitutions des Nations Unies sur la religion et le développement durable, le Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance (UNICEF), le Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population (FNUAP) et ONU Femmes, nous visons à renforcer et promouvoir le discours et la pratique des Nations Unies sur les questions de paix et de sécurité, de développement durable et de droits de la personne. Grâce à ces partenariats dynamiques, l’EUNO fait résonner l’appel à l’action de la communauté œcuménique, en promouvant la consolidation de la paix, la réconciliation, les droits de la personne, la résistance pacifique à la violence et le développement durable.

La raison d’être de l’EUNO est d’amplifier la voix prophétique et les valeurs du mouvement œcuménique dans les divers cadres multilatéraux des Nations Unies (ONU) et en relation avec les principes communs de la charte des Nations Unies et du droit international. Notre objectif est d’influencer la politique et la prise de décision aux Nations Unies à New York, dans les États membres et au sein d’autres institutions intergouvernementales et multilatérales.

Par la collaboration œcuménique et dans l’esprit œcuménique, nous espérons pouvoir accroître la capacité de nos Églises et agences membres à défendre des causes, et être présents lors de moments décisifs où les voix du mouvement œcuménique peuvent influencer le discours mondial sur les questions les plus cruciales de justice et de paix dans le monde aujourd’hui.

Un élément essentiel de la stratégie de plaidoyer de l’EUNO est d’encourager les responsables d’Églises et les porte-parole de certaines communautés à s’engager dans la défense de causes au niveau national ainsi qu’auprès des décideurs aux Nations Unies, et de les aider à accroître leur capacité à le faire. Grâce à des relations de coopération avec les États membres de l’ONU, l’EUNO maintient ouverts les canaux de communication. Nous travaillons également à définir des synergies stratégiques au sein du mouvement œcuménique pour mettre en lien les différents acteurs et faciliter le plaidoyer collectif pour certaines causes.

L’EUNO veille à ce que le COE soit activement représenté et très influent dans les discussions sur les questions qui sont pour lui prioritaires: 

1. paix et sécurité
2. développement durable et suivi des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD)
3. religion, violence et extrémisme
4. justice de genre
5. droits des peuples autochtones.

Symposium annuel sur le rôle de la religion et des organisations religieuses dans les affaires internationales

Co-organisé par l'Équipe spéciale interinstitutions de l'ONU sur la religion et le développement, le Symposium annuel est une initiative du Conseil œcuménique des Églises, de l'Alliance ACT, de la commission Église et société de l'Église méthodiste unie, de la Conférence générale des adventistes du septième jour, du Secours islamique aux États-Unis et de la United Religions Initiative.

Cette page fournit des informations et des ressources relatives à chaque édition du Symposium.
 

Un événement de l’ONU coorganisé par le COE s’intéresse au financement éthique du développement

«Le financement du développement durable représente l’expression d’une éthique de la solidarité et du partage, y compris avec les générations qui nous succéderont et qui hériteront de ce que nous aurons fait, en bien ou en mal», a déclaré Peter Prove, directeur des Affaires internationales au Conseil œcuménique des Églises (COE) lors d’un symposium organisé le 29 janvier au siège des Nations Unies (ONU) à New York.

Ms Donna Bollinger
Email: donna_gail.bollinger@wcc-coe.org

Address:
777, United Nations Plaza
10017 New York, New York, USA

Ecumenical United Nations Office (EUNO)

World Council of Churches' focal point for advocacy initiatives at the United Nations headquarters in New York.

Donate

Housed at the Church Center for the United Nations, the EUNO is the World Council of Churches’ focal point for advocacy initiatives at the United Nations headquarters in New York City.

Together with ACT Alliance, through the EUNO the WCC plays a key role in convening and facilitating advocacy at different levels and building joint ecumenical strategies on priority issues.

The EUNO is a key instrument, helping to create a platform for the most marginalized among us, particularly those from the Global South, to bear witness to their experiences and truth in order to influence policy and decision making at the UN in New York, among member states, and within other intergovernmental and multilateral institutions.

By engaging in continuous dialogue and programmatic cooperation with such agencies as the United Nations Inter-Agency Task Force on Religion and Sustainable Development, the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA), and UN Women, we aim to strengthen and enhance UN discourse and practice on issues of peace and security, sustainable development and human rights. Through these dynamic partnerships, the EUNO serves to echo the call to action of the ecumenical fellowship, promoting peace building, reconciliation, human rights, peaceful resistance to violence, and sustainable development.

EUNO exists to amplify the prophetic voice and values of the ecumenical movement within the various multi-lateral settings of the United Nations (UN), and to articulate that voice in relation to the shared principles of the UN charter and international law. We aim to influence policy and decision making at the UN in New York, among member states, and within other intergovernmental and multilateral institutions.

It is our hope that through ecumenical collaboration and in the ecumenical spirit we can expand the advocacy capacity of our member churches and agencies and link to key advocacy moments when the voices of the ecumenical movement can affect the global discourse on the most critical issues of justice and peace in our world today.

Key aspects of the EUNO’s advocacy strategy are to encourage and expand the capacity of church leaders and community representatives to engage in national-level advocacy as well as to have access to decision makers in the UN. Through cooperative relationships with UN member states, the EUNO ensures open channels of communication. We also work to identify strategic synergies within the ecumenical movement to link actors and facilitate collective advocacy.

The EUNO ensures that the WCC is actively represented and highly influential on its priority activities: 

1. Peace and security
2. Sustainable development and monitoring of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)
3. Religion, violence, and extremism
4. Gender justice
5. Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

Annual Symposium on the Role of Religion and Faith-Based Organizations in International Affairs

Co-sponsored by the United Nations Inter-Agency Task Force on Religion and Sustainable Development, the Annual Symposium is an initiative of the World Council of Churches, ACT Alliance, General Board of Church and Society of the United Methodist Church, General Conference of Seventh-Day Adventists, Islamic Relief USA, and United Religions Initiative.

This page will provide information and resources related to each edition of the Symposium.

WCC co-sponsored event at the UN focuses on ethical financing for development

“Financing for sustainable development represents the expression of an ethic of solidarity and sharing, including with generations that come after us and who will inherit whatever good or evil we have wrought”, said Peter Prove, director of International Affairs at the World Council of Churches (WCC) in a symposium at the United Nations headquarters, in New York, on 29 January.

Religious organizations speak up on refugee crisis at UN event

On 22 January, the World Council of Churches, together with the ACT Alliance, General Board of Church and Society of the United Methodist Church, General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists, United Nations Office on Genocide Prevention and Responsibility to Protect, and the UN Inter-Agency Task Force with Faith Based Organizations, co-organized the Fourth Annual Symposium on the Role of Religion and Faith-Based Organizations (FBOs) in International Affairs with the theme “Perspectives on migration: displacement and marginalization, inclusion and justice”.

WCC co-organized event at UN highlights key role of religions on peace and security

“The promotion of peace is at the core of our sacred teachings and therefore a condition we endeavor to achieve”, said Rudelmar Bueno de Faria, representative of the World Council of Churches (WCC) to the United Nations, during the Third Annual Symposium on the Role of Religion and Faith-Based Organizations in International Affairs, held at the UN headquarters, in New York, on 23 January.

Ms Donna Bollinger
Email: donna_gail.bollinger@wcc-coe.org

Address:
777, United Nations Plaza
10017 New York, New York, USA