Image
EUNO symposium 2021

The Symposium will examine these issues in light of the major issue facing the world today, including the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the broader gender justice landscape including the Commission on the Status of Women, Generation Equality Forum, and others. Pre-existing social inequalities including gender inequalities have been highlighted and new ones created, which will continue to exacerbate these crises unless resolved,” the organizers state in the event concept note.  The COVID-19 pandemic has caused untold suffering and economic hardship, all the more so as it connected to the raging crises of gender inequality, racism, structural economic injustices and climate change.

Who:  Speakers include:

Dr. Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, Executive Director, UN Women
Mr. Ib Petersen, Deputy Executive Director, Management, UN Population Fund
Ms. Alice Nderitu, UN Special Advisor on the Prevention of Genocide

Dr. Ibrahim Salama, Chief, Human Rights Treaties Branch, Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
Mr. Anwar Khan, President, Islamic Relief USA
Rabbi Laura Janner-Klaus, former inaugural Senior Rabbi to the Movement for Reform Judaism
Mr. Rudelmar Bueno de Faria, General Secretary, ACT Alliance

Where: Streaming on YouTube: https://youtu.be/hZzHAsZRQfw

When: Tuesday, January 26, 2021 8:00am-12:30pm (EST).

Media package: https://actalliance.org/documents/symposium-2021-media-package/

Sponsors: World Council of Churches, ACT Alliance, General Board of Church and Society of The United Methodist Church, Islamic Relief, Seventh-Day Adventist Church, Soka Gakkai International, United Religions Initiative, and UN Women and UNFPA, for the UN Inter-agency Task Force on Religion and Development

MEDIA CONTACTS

World Council of Churches: Marcelo Schneider msc@wcc-coe.org 
ACT Alliance: Simon Chambers simon.chambers@actalliance.org 

Islamic Relief: David Hawa dhawa@irusa.org 
General Board of Church and Society – The United Methodist Church: Kurt Adams kadams@umcjustice.org
URI: Isabelle Ortega-Lockwood, iortega@uri.org isabelle@uri.org , Gaea Denker gdenker@uri.org 
UN Women: Ines Esteban Gonzalez ines.esteban.gonzalez@unwomen.org