Event

Stop the Flow: Let’s End Human Trafficking - World Day Against Trafficking in Persons webinar

The World Council of Churches and the Lutheran World Federation are collaborating to host a joint event on human trafficking. The event will take place on 30 July 2021, the World Day Against Trafficking in persons. This day provides an opportunity to sound the alarm about the horrible crime of human trafficking as well as for governments, faith based organizations and other partners to reaffirm their commitment to end this gross violation of human rights.

Image
several hands raised

Date: 30 July 2021

13:30 CEST 
07:30 EDT

19:30 Philippines

Click here to register

In light of SDG 5, which focuses on Gender Equality, as well as SDG 8.7 on decent work and economic growth, this discussion will highlight the gendered dimension of human trafficking and its impact on the rights and dignity of those affected and their families. COVID-19 has further exacerbated the problem as more young people fall prey to traffickers under the guise of ‘employment’.

Objectives of the event.

  1. Raise awareness of the problems of human trafficking among youth and children (especially since covid-19)
  2. Highlight impact of human trafficking, including Trauma, Depression, Suicide,  STDs, and unplanned pregnancies among youth and teens
  3. Provide tangible contextual responses to human trafficking by faith based organizations

Proposed Format

  • Creative spoken Word                                               
  • Sign language
  • Panel discussion
Image
flyer of a WCC/LWF webinar on human trafficking