World Council of Churches

A worldwide fellowship of churches seeking unity, a common witness and Christian service

You are here: Home / Resources / Documents / WCC Central Committee / Geneva, 2005 / Reports and Documents / GEN 15 membership of Central Committee and commissions

GEN 15 membership of Central Committee and commissions

22 February 2005

Central Committee

At its meetings of 17-20 February and 24-27 August 2004, the Executive Committee was informed of several resignations from the Central Committee as well as the death of one member. It therefore recommends that the Central Committee confirm the following replacements:

  • Priest Andrei Eliseev of the Russian Orthodox Church to replace Mr Georgy Roschin;
  • Rev. Lydia Veliko of the United Church of Christ to replace Rev. Dr Bernice Powell Jackson (see below);
  • Rev. Oscar Bolioli of the Evangelical Methodist Church in Uruguay to replace Ms Laura Saavedra;
  • Dr Anna May Say Pa of the Myanmar Baptist Convention to replace Ms Rosebelle Thu Lay Paw.

Assembly Worship Committee

At its meeting in August/September 2003, the Central Committee asked for a revision of the proposed composition of the Assembly Worship Committee because it was felt that a closer look at the right balances would be necessary. After further consideration by the Officers and the Executive Committee, the full membership of the Assembly Worship Committee is thus now:

  • Metr. Prof Dr Gennadios of Sassima, Eastern Orthodox (Mod.)
  • Rev. Cibele Kuss, Lutheran, Brazil (Vice-Mod.)
  • Mr Daniel Apii, Christian Church, Cook Islands
  • Ms Gwen Cashmore, Anglican, UK
  • Rev. Andrei Eliseev, Eastern Orthodox, Russia
  • Bishop Dr Richard Aboagye Mensah, Methodist, Ghana
  • Ms Phebe Gamata Crismo, United Methodist Church, Philippines
  • Ms Sasha Lumsten, Anglican, Jamaica
  • Fr Jean Kawak, Oriental Orthodox, Syria
  • Rev. Susan Henry Crowe, United Methodist Church, USA


  • Rev. John Bell, Presbyterian, Scotland
  • Rev. Fr Jorge Scampini O.P., Roman Catholic, Argentina
  • Rev. Gerardo Oberman, Reformed, Argentina (CLAI)


By postal vote, the members of Central Committee elected Rev. Dr Bernice Powell Jackson WCC President for the North America Region, following the resignation of Rev. Kathryn Bannister.


Since the last meeting of the Central Committee, the Executive Committee appointed the following new members to commissions:

Commission of the Churches on Diakonia and Development

  • Ms Omega Bula of the United Church of Canada to replace the Rev. Chris Ferguson.

Commission on Justice, Peace and Creation

  • Ms Adele Halliday of the United Church of Canada to replace Ms Natalie Maxson.
  • Dr Karen Nazaryan of the Armenian Apostolic Church (Etchmiadzin) to replace Ms Diana Harutiunyan.

Global Christian Forum

The Executive Committee approved the appointment of Rev. Wesley Granberg-Michaelson to the Continuation Committee of the Global Christian Forum as WCC representative.