World Council of Churches

A worldwide fellowship of churches seeking unity, a common witness and Christian service

You are here: Home / Press centre / Events / Webinar on Racism and Afrophobia

Webinar on Racism and Afrophobia

The World Council of Churches (WCC) Commission of the Churches on International Affairs (CCIA) is organising a Webinar on Racism and Afrophobia on Monday 12 February 2018, at 9:00 – 10:30 CST
Webinar on Racism and Afrophobia

Annegreth Schilling/WCC

Event details

When

12 February 2018

Contact Name

Contact Phone

+41227916150

Add event to calendar

The World Council of Churches (WCC) Commission of the Churches on International Affairs (CCIA) is organising a Webinar on Racism and Afrophobia on Monday 12 February 2018, at 9:00 – 10:30 CST (Dallas time) *.

The webinar will be moderated by Dr Evelyn L. Parker, CCIA member and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at Perkins School of Theology.

Speakers include:

  • Dr Ulysses Burley III - on "Being a Black man in the USA in 2018"
  • Rev. Traci D. Blackmon – on “The intersectionality between racism and sexism”
  • Dr Jennifer Harvey - on "White Supremacy and the difference between reconciliation and reparations"
  • Rev. Dr Sharon Watkins - on "The role of US churches in addressing racial injustice"

We invite you to join the training - from your computer or mobile - using the following link : https://fuze.me/36426490

Please Download <https://www.fuze.com/download?utm_source=Meeting-Invite> the Fuze app ahead of the training for the best experience.

You can also join the training by calling from your mobile phone:

- Smart dial to join from the USA : (855) 346-3893<tel:%28855%29%20346-3893,358975174803> (toll free). Then enter the meeting ID 36426490 followed by # key
- International phone numbers: visit www.fuze.com/numbers<https://www.fuze.com/numbers?meeting=35897517>

This webinar is a follow-up of the Hearing on Racism, Discrimination, Afrophobia and Xenophobia : The experience of people of African Descent in the USA (September 2017).

* Corresponds to 7:00am in San Francisco (CA), 9:00am in Chicago (IL), 10:00am in New York (NY), 16:00 in Geneva (Switzerland)